Faculty


Binney Girdler

Binney Girdler

Director of Environmental Studies (on sabbatical 2021-2022)
Professor of Biology

Phone: 269.337.5977
Email: Binney.Girdler@kzoo.edu
Office: Dow 307
Credentials:
B.A., University of Virginia
M.S., Yale University
Ph.D., Princeton University

Courses taught for Environmental Studies:
BIOL 115 Environmental Science
BIOL 224 Ecology and Conservation with Lab (every Fall and Spring)
BIOL 312 Population and Community Ecology with Lab (every spring)
ENVS 490 Environmental Studies Senior Seminar (topics vary)

Amelia Katanski

Amelia Katanski

Professor of English

Phone: 269.337.7045
Email: Amelia.Katanski@kzoo.edu
Office: Humphrey House 207
Credentials:
B.A., Kalamazoo College
M.A., University of California-Los Angeles
M.A., Ph.D., Tufts University

Courses taught for Environmental Studies:
ENGL 151: Reading the World: Environments: Gardens (every spring quarter)
ENGL 217/SEMN 217: World Indigenous Literature
ENGL/SEMN 435 American Indian Literature and the Law

Jennifer Einspahr

Jennifer Einspahr

2021-2022 Director of Environmental Studies
Associate Professor of Political Science and Chair of Political Science Department
Department of Political Science and Women, Gender, and Sexuality

Phone: 269.337.7059
Email: einspahr@kzoo.edu
Office: Olds Upton 305A
Credentials:
B.A., Whitman College 
Ph.D., Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Courses taught for Environmental Studies:
POLS 267 Environment and Political Theory (Every even Fall quarter)

Amy Newday Photo

Amy Newday

Mellon Fellow for Experiential Learning

Phone: 269.337.7381
Email: Amy.Newday@kzoo.edu
Office: Dewing 004E
Credentials:
B.A., Adrian College 
M.A., Western Michigan University

Courses taught for Environmental Studies:
SEMN 408 Slow Farming: Resilient, Just, and Joyful Agriculture (every Spring)

Charlene Boyer Lewis

Professor of History
Department of History and Women, Gender, and Sexuality

Phone: 269.337.7058
Email: clewis@kzoo.edu
Office: Dewing 303E
Credentials:
B.A., Kalamazoo College 
M.A., American University 
Ph.D., University of Virginia

Courses taught for Environmental Studies:
HIST 217 History of Leisure and Recreation in America

James Lewis

Professor of History
Department of History 

Phone: 269.337.5791
Email: jlewis@kzoo.edu
Office: Dewing 303G
Credentials:
B.A., College of William and Mary 
M.A., The American University 
Ph.D., University of Virginia 

Courses taught for Environmental Studies:
HIST 212 American Environmental History (even years)

Adriana Garriga-Lopez

Associate Professor of Anthropology
Department of Anthropology and Sociology and Women, Gender, and Sexuality and Critical Theory Concentration and Community and Global Health

Phone: 269.337.7363
Email: agarriga@kzoo.edu
Office: Dewing 309H
Credentials:
B.A., Rutgers University-New Brunswick 
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Columbia University 

Courses taught for Environmental Studies:
ANSO 365 Humans and Non-Humans

Nayda Collazo-Llorens

Visiting Assistant Professor of Art
Department of Art and Art History

Phone: 269.337.7047
Email: ncollazo@kzoo.edu
Office: Dewing 309H
Credentials:
B.F.A., Massachusetts College of Art
M.F.A., New York University 

Courses taught for Environmental Studies:
ARTX 295 Art and Environmental Justice

Sarah Lindley

Arcus Social Justice Leadership Professor of Art
Department of Art and Art History

Phone: 269.337.7004
Email: slindley@kzoo.edu
Office:
Credentials:
BFA New York State College of Ceramics at Alfred University 
MFA University of Washington
Sarah Lindley’s Website

Courses taught for Environmental Studies:
ARTX 234 Structure & Space

Tom Askew

Professor of Physics
Department of Physics

Phone: 269.337.7097
Email: taskew@kzoo.edu
Office: Olds Upton 208C
Credentials:
B.A., Gordon College 
M.S., Ph.D., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Courses taught for Environmental Studies:
SEMN 401 Energy & Environmental Policy Worldwide

Robert Mowry

Visiting Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Department of Anthropology & Sociology

Phone: 269.337.7124
Email: Robert.Mowry@kzoo.edu
Office: Dewing 309F

Courses taught for Environmental Studies:
ANSO-232 Nature and Society

Cyndy Garcia-Weyandt

Assistant Professor of Critical Ethnic Studies
Department of Critical Ethnic Studies

Phone: 269.337.7426
Email: cyndy.garcia-weyandt@kzoo.edu
Office: Humphrey House 206
Credentials:
B.A., Anthropology, University of California, Los Angeles
M.A., Culture and Performance, University of California, Los Angeles
Ph.D., Culture and Performance, University of California, Los Angeles

Courses taught for Environmental Studies:
CES-300 Body, Land, and Labor
CES 340 Plant Communication and Kinship

Darshana Udayanganie Photo

Darshana Udayanganie

Visiting Assistant Professor of Economics
Department of Economics & Business

Phone: 269.337.7057
Email: darshana.udayanganie@kzoo.edu
Office: Dewing 303I
Credentials:
B.S., University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka
M.S., University of Maine
Ph.D., M.A., University of New Hampshire  

Courses taught for Environmental Studies:
ECON-235 Environmental & Resource Econ
ECON-490 Environmental Economics (senior seminar)

Vijayan Sundararaj Photo

Vijayan Sundararaj

Visiting Assistant Professor of Biology
Department of Biology

Phone: 269.337.5977
Email: vijayan.sundararaj@kzoo.edu
Office: Dow 307
Credentials:
Ph.D., Lakehead University
M.S., Ben Gurion University
B.S., Gujarat University

Courses taught for Environmental Studies:
ENVS-115-01 Environmental Science
BIOL-224-01 Ecology & Conservation w/Lab